I ate canned salmon…and I LIKED it!

I’m not liking a lot of meat lately.  I don’t know why, I just don’t feel like cooking or eating chicken or beef anymore.  Because of this, I have been searching for other meat and protein options for my meals.  Enter canned salmon…more specifically, salmon cakes.  On a night of googling, I came across a recipe for salmon cakes and thought it might be worth a try.  I like frozen salmon fillets, so it shouldn’t be much different than that right?  The recipe was simple-most of the ingredients I already had on hand, except for the canned salmon and bread crumbs, which I picked up on a grocery run last week.  Finally on Tuesday, it was time to make the cakes.  I love easy to make recipes on work nights, and this one fit the bill-dump everything in a bowl, mix, form into patties and fry in a pan.  Within half an hour, I had six little salmon cakes ready to eat.  I had made black radish and potato salad the other night and had some left over, so I ate a few salmon cakes with that and some pickled watermelon radish for my supper.  The verdict: delicious!  I will definitely save the recipe to make again 🙂

Author: shecooksalot

Thirty-something year old originally from Ontario, Canada, in a serious relationship with food. I love making new things in the kitchen- cooking, baking, dehydrating, fermenting, and canning. I try to eat healthy and avoid eating a lot of processed food. I love to make things at home from scratch.

Leave a Reply

