Butternut squash…cookies??

So this happened Thursday…spiced butternut squash cookies!!  I got a butternut squash in my CSA box this week and had no idea what I was going to do with it.  I was getting a little behind on cooking veggies for suppers already so I decided to search for a recipe for something I could bake with the squash instead.  When I came across this recipe for spiced butternut squash cookies in my google search, I decided it was worth a try.  The recipe called for cooked mashed butternut squash…another recipe I was looking at said to peel and cube the squash and then boil for 20 minutes, so I had already done that part earlier in the week and froze it in one cup portions.  (Side note: if you microwave the squash for a few minutes and then let it cool, it’s way easier to peel!)  On Thursday evening, I mixed up the “dough” for the cookies.  I was a little worried they wouldn’t turn out, as the dough was more like a thick muffin batter, but they turned out great!  They’re kind of like muffin tops, actually.  The dough spread out on the cookie sheet to double it’s size, which I was not expecting.  Thankfully, I used three cookie sheets to make them, for a total of two dozen cookies.  Half went in the freezer, which will hopefully still be as good later.  The other half I am trying not to eat all in one sitting!  I will definitely be saving this recipe to make again 🙂

Author: shecooksalot

Thirty-something year old originally from Ontario, Canada, in a serious relationship with food. I love making new things in the kitchen- cooking, baking, dehydrating, fermenting, and canning. I try to eat healthy and avoid eating a lot of processed food. I love to make things at home from scratch.

Leave a Reply

