Soup time!!

Last week I made Turkey and Napa Cabbage Soup.  As if I didn’t have enough cabbage already…this week I got a Napa cabbage in my CSA box.  Every time I make something with a cabbage, I get another one!  Thank goodness this only happens for a few months in the winter-I should be well-stocked for sauerkraut until next winter at this rate!  For those of you that have never seen a Napa cabbage, it’s not like your typical green or purple cabbage.  This cabbage kind of looks like a romaine/cabbage hybrid.  The leaves are long and narrow.  I have seen recipes for Kimchi, which is some kind of Korean fermented napa cabbage, but I didn’t have the spices available to make it, so I found a recipe online for Pork and Napa Cabbage Soup.  I don’t care much for ground pork, so I made mine with ground turkey.  I also skipped the mushrooms.  Luckily I already had everything on hand except for the ground turkey, which I picked up at the store a few days earlier.
Of course, the day I was planning to cook it, I had a lingering headache from the previous day.  I decided I would just prep the veggies that night and then cook it the following day.  I also decided I should open a bottle of wine.  Next thing I know, BAM!! I’m cooking the soup lol!  Sometimes you just need a little push to get things started and then you get into your groove.

The soup was delicious…I’ll be eating soup for days!  At least that means I don’t have to cook for a few days…

Author: shecooksalot

Thirty-something year old originally from Ontario, Canada, in a serious relationship with food. I love making new things in the kitchen- cooking, baking, dehydrating, fermenting, and canning. I try to eat healthy and avoid eating a lot of processed food. I love to make things at home from scratch.

Leave a Reply

