What is this deliciousness??

Homemade granola!  Wow!  Who knew it was so easy and required so few ingredients to make homemade granola?  I had no idea.  I love it when I can make things at home instead of buying processed foods that are full of sugar and mystery ingredients.  I buy Kashi cereal sometimes and eat it on top of yogurt, but the other week, I discovered this recipe online for Blueberry Flax Granola and I knew I had to try it.  The best part?  I already had all of the ingredients on hand!  I had a package of dried blueberries in the cupboard that had come in my CSA box a few weeks ago, so I was pretty excited to finally have a use for them.


Making it was quick-it took just a few minutes to mix the dry ingredients in a bowl, then I just added maple syrup until it looked like it was all coated.  The only maple syrup I had on hand was ED Smith Sugar Free Syrup, so I was a little concerned with how this would work out in the recipe, but I figured it was worth a shot.  I also decided to make a half batch instead of a full batch, just in case it was a complete failure.  Spread the granola mixture on a parchment paper lined baking sheet, bake, voila-granola!  I tasted it a few minutes after it came out of the oven and it was amazing.  The blueberries actually got crunchy, which I really liked!  I’ll definitely be making this again.  I’ve already been thinking of a few other things I’d like to add to it-maybe some shredded coconut, almonds, any other dried fruit I have on hand, maybe even a few chocolate chips once it’s cooled!

Author: shecooksalot

Thirty-something year old originally from Ontario, Canada, in a serious relationship with food. I love making new things in the kitchen- cooking, baking, dehydrating, fermenting, and canning. I try to eat healthy and avoid eating a lot of processed food. I love to make things at home from scratch.

Leave a Reply

